Home / Show / This week on the God Discussion show: Jason Torpy, Military Association of Atheists and Freethinkers, on Atheist/Humanist Chaplains
This week on the God Discussion show:  Jason Torpy, Military Association of Atheists and Freethinkers, on Atheist/Humanist Chaplains

This week on the God Discussion show: Jason Torpy, Military Association of Atheists and Freethinkers, on Atheist/Humanist Chaplains

Atheist Military ChaplainsAtheist chaplains in the military?  Pundits at Fox News joke that this is an oxymoron and that Humanists/atheists do not deserve a place in the Military Chaplaincy program.

But for the freethinking servicemen and women who represent the second largest “conscience demographic” behind the military personnel who identify as Christian, it is not a joking matter.

This Thursday, we will be privileged to speak with Jason Torpy, the President of the Military Association of Atheists and Freethinkers (MAAF) who will tell us why Humanist (or atheist) chaplains are needed.  MAAF has been at the forefront in advocating for atheist chaplains to serve the non-believers in the military, and Jason will dispel some of the myths promulgated by those opposed to the idea that atheists and freethinkers should have equal rights to spiritual counseling in the military.

Jason Torpy, MAAF PresidentTorpy is a graduate of West Point and a veteran of the Iraq war.  In addition to serving as President of MAAF, he serves on the board of the American Humanist Association.

The show is scheduled for Thursday night, November 17, 2011, at 6:00 Pacific, 7:00 Mountain, 8:00 Central and 9:00 Eastern time.  The call in number is 914-338-0452 and as always, our web-based chat room will be open. You will need a log in name to participate in the chat room, which is anonymous and free of charge.

To hear the show live, visit BlogTalkRadio at:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/god-discussion/2011/11/18/atheist-humanist-chaplains-in-the-military–jason-torpy

For more information about time zones, getting a user name and so forth, please visit our show page.

About admin

Scroll To Top